Pregnancy: Waiting Yet Another Year to Continue My Life

I did not begin the Spring ’14 semester today with my classmates due to extenuating circumstances related to my pregnancy. Since my baby is due towards the beginning of the Fall ’14 semester, common sense dictates that I will not return to school for an entire year. My heart is broken, and I am not interested in looking on the bright side just yet.

When you have lost 10 years of your life to an illness, all you have are your skills to heal and plans to begin your life anew. I had managed the second step quite well, acting on those plans and doing so quite successfully. Now, I am back to just having my skills with the hopes that plans will once again be implemented for future dream fulfillment.

I am not so blind in my disappointment that I cannot recognize that my baby is my new goal and new success, a different plan than I had anticipated; it is simply that for someone whose strongest tool in getting better is setting goals and plans to work forward to, my pregnancy took complete control from my goals and plans, at least for the mean time.

I know that as the days pass, and I will find more and more ways to connect with my baby. As I hear its heartbeat in exams, see its little fingers grow, and feel it dance around my womb to say hello, I will be ecstatic that the goal of my degrees were worth setting aside for a year. (Mmm…baby smell!)

But right now, I mourn their temporary loss into an unknown future, and I plan to be mournful for a while.

Process, accept nonjudgmentally, and let go.

AFSP
The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) is the nation’s leading organization bringing together people across communities and backgrounds to understand and prevent suicide, and to help heal the pain it causes. Individuals, families, and communities who have been personally touched by suicide are the moving force behind everything we do.We strive for a world that is free of suicide.
We support research, because understanding the causes of suicide is vital to saving lives.
We educate others in order to foster understanding and inspire action.
We offer a caring community to those who have lost someone they love to suicide, or who are struggling with thoughts of suicide themselves.
We advocate to ensure that federal, state, and local governments do all they can to prevent suicide, and to support and care for those at risk.

Suicide Prevention No matter what problems you are dealing with, we want to help you find a reason to keep living. By calling 1-800-273-TALK (8255) you’ll be connected to a skilled, trained counselor at a crisis center in your area, anytime 24/7. If you feel you are in a crisis, whether or not you are thinking about killing yourself, please call the Lifeline. People have called us for help with substance abuse, economic worries, relationship and family problems, sexual orientation, illness, getting over abuse, depression, mental and physical illness, and even loneliness.

Leave a Reply

