My Latest Psychiatric Adventure- Electroconvulsive Therapy! Buzz!!!

I believe it is safe to say that with the commencement of services next week, I will have run the gamut on modern psychiatric medical treatments for depression. With that said, I invite you along on my newest, scariest mental adventure of them all…Electroconvulsive therapy!

I have researched Electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) for a very long time with the honest hope that I would never have to seek its use. However, I have had a persistent, nagging feeling that ECT was exactly where I was going to end up. Self-fulfilling prophesy? A smart guess? What does it matter. I am here now and ready to do what I can in the hopes of bettering my life, my husband’s life, and the lives of the children I hope to one day have.

ECT has come a long way since the days of the (over referenced…yet I am referencing it!) One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. For more information on the procedure, please visit the National Institute of Mental Health.

I know what to expect according to information from numerous doctors and personal accounts published on the internet. I realize that I could have a similar experience to what has been shared with me or an experience that is all together different. I guess I’ll just have to wait to find out.

I am grateful for another opportunity to share my story with others, and it doesn’t surprise me that the Good Lord has chosen one of the more stigmatized psychiatric treatments to do it with. (He seems to be all about me doing some sort of growing through adversity thing. LOL) I hope that by openly sharing my experience with Mental Illness, I can make someone else’s journey to recovery a little less painful. I want people to know they are not alone and that there are resources to help even when society and loved ones are embarrassed to admit that we exist. I fear so deeply especially for children and adolescents who do not have parents they can trust with admissions of mental health issues.

I am female. I am white. I am a redhead. I am normal. And I happen to be Mentally Ill.

One thought on “My Latest Psychiatric Adventure- Electroconvulsive Therapy! Buzz!!!

  1. I love your cartoon. When I first has ECT I had a friend who wondered if I hair would become curlier. It didn’t! Congratulations on speaking out about this. It is a hard topic that is so misunderstood so I support anyone who speaks out. I really hope it works for you and gives you the relief you need. I hope too that it happens quickly and without too many side effects. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

